Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Chile Pepper Festival

Event Navigation

From our organizers:

Save the date for New York’s hottest fall tradition! Brooklyn’s end-of-summer blowout sets the Garden ablaze with scorching bands from around the world, dozens of fiery food artisans, and hours of chile-chocolate debauchery.

This year’s festival has seven scheduled hours of live performances by six world-class musical acts hailing from regions of the world where the chile is an integral part of the cuisine. Masters of ceremony Robbins & Ringold light up the Cherry Esplanade Stage with fire breathing, sword swallowing, and other fiery feats. This year’s red-hot lineup of bands:

  • Lost Bayou Ramblers, high-octane, Grammy-winning Cajun trailblazers from Broussard, Louisiana (listen here)
  • Doctor Nativo, a Guatemalan spicy stew of reggae, cumbia, and hip hop (listen here)
  • Coreyah, amped up South Korean rock rooted in old-school folklore (listen here)
  • Dahka Band featuring Kheswa, a fusion of funky grooves from North and South Africa (listen here)
  • Nation Beat, Brazilian forró beats meet brash New Orleans brass (listen here)
  • Mariachi Tapatio de Alvaro Paulino, a rousing serenade led by a fifth-generation mariachi master (listen here)

Chile Pepper Festival 2018 features 40 food artisans sharing samples and stories of how their products are made. A focus on independent purveyors—including many Brooklyn-based vendors—means visitors can sample and purchase one-of-a-kind products and meet small business owners with a passion for peppers. Products include hot sauces, spicy chocolates, simmer sauces, and unusual and delicious chile combinations in ice cream, jams, pickles, and more, as well as many products created especially for Chile Pepper Festival. Some spicy food categories at the festival:

Hot Sauce Sorcery: Artisanal concoctions cooked up by an array of hot sauce wizards
Chile-Chocolate Debauchery: Signature confections from chocolate companies in Brooklyn and beyond
Combustible Condiments: Chutneys, salsas, and specialty sauces
Hi-Scoville Specialties: An eclectic assortment of sweet and savory treats

Cooking and Cultivating Chiles
Brooklyn’s famed Sahadi Market, a Middle Eastern specialty food vendor founded in 1895 and winner of the 2017 James Beard America’s Classics award, returns with Sahadi’s Souk, a pop-up market offering spices and other specialty ingredients.
Visitors interested in learning more about cooking with chiles can check out Community Bookstore’s selection of spicy food cookbooks.
Interested in how to grow and use chiles yourself? Check out Chile Chat in BBG’s lush Herb Garden, where Brooklyn gardener and Capsicum connoisseur Gregory Seaton talks about cultivating peppers and their uses in regional cuisines throughout the world.

Red-Hot Street Art
Enjoy chile-inspired murals, tote bags, and more by some of NYC’s finest street artists and muralists:

Albertus Joseph (@albertusjoseph)
Ariana Febles (@ariana_febles)
Dirt Cobain (@dirtcobain)
Elstabo (@elstabo)
Hektad (@hektad._official)
Justin Winslow (@winslowworld)
Nile Onyx (@nileonyx)
Sean Slaney (@sean_slaney)
Curated by Jeff Beler (@jeffbeler[BJ1] )

Details

Date:
September 29
Time:
11:00 am - 6:00 pm
Cost:
$20 – $25
Event Category:
Website:
https://www.showclix.com/event/chile-pepper-festival

Venue

Brooklyn Botanic Garden Flatbush Entrance
455 Flatbush Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11377 United States
+ Google Map
Newsletter